Contact Us

Bach Collegium San Diego staff can be reached at:

1475 Catalina Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92107

Phone: 619-341-1726

Questions? Comments? Email us at
Or use the form on the right to contact us.


Bach Collegium San Diego is a historically-informed professional music ensemble based in San Diego, California.

Season 2017-18



Details subject to change

ACIS & GALATEA (1718): G.F. HANDEL   Concert Version                    October 20, 21

Handel's Acis and Galatea (1718 version) was his first dramatic work in English when it premiered as a one-act masque at the Cannons estate, home of the composer’s patron James Brydges, the Duke of Chandos. Acis & Galatea portrays the love affair between the nymph Galatea and the shepherd Acis, whose reunion is thwarted by the monster Polyphemus. A magnificent work from beginning to end filled with Handel's masterful dramatic storytelling.

ACIS: Derek Chester    GALATEA: Teresa Wakim   POLYPHEMUS: Mischa Bouvier

DAMON: John Russell    CORIDON: Matthew Tresler

MESSIAH: G.F. HANDEL   Complete Performance                     December 18, 19, 20

Bach Collegium San Diego's annual performances of Messiah have become one of the country’s most compelling interpretations of this beloved oratorio, emphasizing Handel's prowess as one of the great composers of dramatic music from the eighteenth-century. A stellar ensemble brings both the grandeur and intimacy to this seminal work. 


Clara Rottsolk, Soprano    Melanie Russell, Soprano    Jay Carter, Countertenor   

Derek Chester, Tenor    Mischa Bouvier, Baritone

SOUNDSCAPE: MUSICAL ARCHITECTS OF THE BAROQUE   Scott Allen Jarrett, Guest Conductor   March 2, 3                          A collection of vocal masterpieces displaying exceptional musical architecture, centering on Domenico's Scarlatti's Stabat Mater, a work displaying grandeur and a depth of expression, and Bach's supremely crafted motet Jesu, meine Freude. An ensemble of 10 singers and basso continuo, led by guest conductor Scott Allen Jarrett, brings this exciting program to life. 

Stabat Mater à 10, Domenico Scarlatti

Jesu, meine Freude BWV 227, J.S. Bach

Magnificat à 6, Claudio Monteverdi

Die Himmel erzählen die Ehre Gottes, Heinrich Schütz

Selig sind die Toten & Nunc Dimittis (from Musikalische Exequien), Schütz

WELCOME TO ALL THE PLEASURES!     Henry Purcell: The Sacred and the Profane                  May 11, 12

One of the greatest and most original composers of the seventeenth century, Henry Purcell produced a uniquely English form of music by incorporating French and Italian stylistic elements into his compositions. Two celebratory odes, written to commemorate St. Cecilia and Queen Mary respectively, serves as the backdrop for this festive program.


Margot Rood, Soprano    Aaron Sheehan, Tenor   Enrico Lagasca, Bass

Welcome to all the Pleasures (Ode to St. Cecilia's Day, 1683)

Now does the glorious day appear (Birthday Ode for Queen Mary, 1689)

Rejoice in the Lord alway (Bell Anthem)

Man that is born of a woman (from Funeral Music for Queen Mary, 1695)

In the midst of life (from Funeral Music for Queen Mary, 1695)

Including excerpts from King Arthur and Fairy Queen


Season Subscriptions are available for purchase.

Individual Concert tickets will be available for purchase August 1. 


Season tickets are $208 for Premium Seating and $133 for General Admission seating.


Tickets to concerts in October, March, and May are $50 for Premium Seats and $35 for General Admission.

Senior General Admission tickets are $32; Student tickets are $15 (with valid student ID).

Tickets for Messiah are $70 for Premium Seats and $40 for General Admission.

Senior General Admission tickets to Messiah are $35; Student tickets are $20 (with valid student ID).